Tis the season for BBQing!

I’ll find any reason to throw a BBQ.  And that’s pretty much what we did this past weekend.  No occasion, nothing in particular to celebrate.  Just felt like having people over for a BBQ.  I had a bunch of new recipes I wanted to try, and you’ll be seeing all of them over the next week!

Skinny Sour Cream and Onion Dip (see below)
Perfect Beer Brats
Salsa Chicken Sandwiches

Grilled Corn Salad
Creamy Pasta Salad

Raspberry Lemonade Cupcakes

First recipe up – Skinny Sour Cream and Onion Dip

I’d like to dedicate this recipe to two friends and fellow French onion dip addicts – Jill and Marion.  We are bonded in the sisterhood of the French onion dip.  I seriously have an issue.  I can’t buy it, because they whole tub on onion dip and bag of Ruffles (must be the Ruffles) will be gone in less than two days.  And that’s if I’m eating it by myself ( I don’t like to share).  And don’t even get me started on the sour cream and onion chips. It’s all a downward spiral for me.  I saw this recipe a while back on Rachael Ray and knew I had to try it.  I’ve made it before and it totally hit the spot.  It’s in no way as good as the original onion dip, but let me tell ya this was a pretty good substitute.  And I didn’t feel nearly as guilty at the end of the day.  So after a recent discussion with Jill and Marion about our love of the onion dip, I knew it had to be on the menu for the BBQ.  Even if I ate it all by myself (which I didn’t), it would be well worth it!  And did I mention how easy this is to throw together?

Skinny Sour Cream and Onion Dip
adapted from Rachael Ray

2 cups greek yogurt
1 bunch green onions, diced (whites and half of greens)
juice of 1 lime
few dashes of onion powder
few dashes of hot sauce
salt and pepper
chips for dipping (I like Pop chips or kettle cooked krinkle cut chips)

Stir together ingredients, serve with chips!

Enjoy!

Picture

Leave a comment